IASC | International Association of Skateboard Companies

Tickets for the 2013 Skateboarding Hall of Fame and Icon Awards Ceremony are on sale now. Early bird discounts end March 19th. Get your tickets now, they will sell out!
All attendees of the 2013 IASC Skateboarding Summit will receive a complimentary General Admission ticket to the Skateboarding Hall of Fame event. If you’d like a VIP admission, please purchase your ticket here.
Enjoy a night of fun, friends and great memories as we honor the skateboarders, industry pioneers and icons that have left an indelible imprint on the history of skateboarding and our culture. The 4th Annual Skateboarding Hall of Fame and Icon Awards Ceremony will be held at the Sheraton Park Hotel in Anaheim, California on May 9th, 2013.
6:00 pm – Happy Hour and VIP Meet and Greet
6:30 pm – VIP Dinner
7:30 pm – General Admission
7:45 pm – Awards Ceremony
10:00 pm – End
All proceeds benefit the not-for-profit efforts of the Skateboarding Hall of Fame and the Go Skateboarding Foundation’s Just One Board initiative.
The Skateboarding Hall of Fame and Icon Awards Ceremony is a production of the International Association of Skateboard Companies’ Go Skateboarding Foundation under license from the International Skateboarding Hall of Fame™.
See our previous post for a full list of this year’s nominees.

The ballots are out and the voting has begun, congratulations to all the 2013 Skateboarding Hall of Fame Nominees!

Men 1960s
Bob Mohr
Brad “Squeek” Blank
Dave Hilton
Gary Hill
George Trafton
Gregg Carroll
John Fries
Steve Hilton
Tommy Ryan
Woody Woodward

Men 1970s Era One
Denis Shufeldt
Gregg Weaver
Henry Hester
Jim Muir
John Hutson
Mike Weed
Russ Howell
Skitch Hitchcock
Tom Sims
Ty Page
Men 1970s Era Two
Alan “Ollie” Gelfand
David Hackett
Dennis Martinez
Doug “Pineapple” Saladino
Duane Peters
Eddie Elguera
George Orton
Steve Alba
Steve Olson
Tom Inouye
Men 1980s Era One
Allen Losi
Billy Ruff
John “Tex” Gibson
Lance Mountain
Lester Kasai
Micke Alba
Mike McGill
Neil Blender
Rodney Mullen
Steve Rocco
Men 1980s Era Two
Chris Miller
Christian Hosoi
Eric Dressen
Jesse Martinez
Jeff Phillips
Mike Vallely
Natas Kaupas
Per Welinder
Ray Barbee
Tommy Guerrero
Women 1960s
Coleen Boyd
Laurie Turner
Linda Benson
Valerie Perez
Wendy Bearer
Women 1970s
Ellen Berryman
Ellen Oneal
Kim Cespedes
Laura Thornhill
Robin Logan

Great piece on Skate and Annoy talking about Rodney’s involvement with the Lemelson Center and Innoskate.

Rodney Mullen visited the Smithsonian (on invitation) as part of the Lemelson Center’s informal initiative to build relationships with skateboarding’s innovators. Your response may be “What the what?” Or at least, what is the Lemelson Center and why do they care about skateboarding? Technically, it’s the Jerome and Dorothy Lemelson Center for the Study of Invention and Innovation, and it was established in 1995 under the larger umbrella of the Smithsonian Institution. But why skateboarding? According to deputy director Jeff Brodie

Read the rest at Skate and Annoy.

Welcome to the new home of IASC online! We’re still shaking out some of the kinks, so please poke around and let us know if you run into any problems with the site. Hopefully you won’t find any issues, but will be compelled to comment on how great everything looks anyway …
Along with a new look, we’ve got a new outlook, and the keyword is alignment. Yes, our Twitter @TheIASC and Instagram @TheIASC are now aligned with our website TheIASC.org, but it goes much deeper than that. The IASC Board has spent the last year working to align our services with the needs of our members in order to provide value beyond the intangibles that a member-owned non-profit trade association brings to the table.
New for 2013, our Aflac partnership, State of Skate industry research program and DIY or Die initiative join the burgeoning Just One Board initiative, IASC Skateboarding Summit, Skateboarding Hall of Fame, Go Skateboarding Day and a solid list of service providers to give IASC members tangible returns on the dues they pay. Every ounce of our energy remains focused on promoting skateboarding, increasing participation, educating our members and saving them money.
For less than the cost of a single magazine ad, an IASC membership is an investment in both the success of your business and the future of the skateboard industry. Together we can help chart the course that keeps skateboarding the vibrant art, sport, and lifestyle that has brought so much to millions around the world. We hope you’ll join us today!

Okay, we’re just a little excited about this one! For the 10-year Anniversary of Go Skateboarding Day, IASC has partnered with the Smithsonian’s Lemelson Center for the Study of Invention & Innovation at the National Museum of American History to produce Innoskate, a two-day celebration of innovation in skateboarding on June 21 and 22, 2013.
Details are forthcoming, but guaranteed it’s going to big a huge day for skateboarding!
Rodney Mullen visited the Lemelson Center last summer to get things rolling, enjoy his discussion of the intersection skateboarding, invention and innovation. It’s amazing to hear Rodney articulate what skateboarding means to so many of us in a way you’ve probably never even considered.

We’re excited to announce the dates for the 6th Annual IASC Skateboarding Summit and the 4th Annual Skateboarding Hall of Fame at the Sheraton Park Hotel in Anaheim, California.
The Summit runs from May 8-10, 2013 with the Hall of Fame the evening of May 9th. All Summit attendees are guaranteed entrance to the Hall of Fame which sold out last year with over 400 attendees.
We’re backed up once again by the amazing skating at the Vans Pool Party on May 11th. Vans Skatepark is less than three miles from our location and Disneyland is right up the block if you want to bring the family.
It’s going to be a great four days of skateboarding education, networking and fun. Registration begins early February. Put it on your calendar now, we hope to see you in May.
2013 Save the Date: IASC Summit and Skateboarding Hall of Fame

2013 IASC Board of Directors
2013 IASC Board of Directors: Hunter Muraira – Nike, Steve Van Doren – Vans, Steve Lake – Sector 9, Chairman Don Brown – Sole Technology, VP Glenn Brumage – Wabsono, Josh Friedberg – IASC, Jeff Taylor – DC, Johnny Schillereff – Element, Frank Messmann – Black Box, Monica Campana – TransWorld, Not pictured: Bod Boyle – Dwindle, Dave Swift – The Skateboard Mag, Per Welinder – Blitz, Tim Gavin – DVS, Tod Swank – Tum Yeto
Photo: Chris Kimball
We held an open Board Meeting at Agenda with nine of our fourteen IASC Board Members in attendance. The aptly named ‘Beers with the Board’ brought in a good crowd, as Jeff Harbaugh pointed out, “they had a keg so what would you expect.”
Along with outlining IASC’s 2013 events and initiatives, we proudly unveiled our partnership with Aflac and the ability to offer IASC members Aflac Accident Insurance at a substantial discount with no pre-existing condition exclusions. It’s not health insurance, but it’s a great stop-gap for all the companies wanting to take care of their 1099 employees in case they get hurt. For less than $500 a year it also makes a great deal of sense as supplemental coverage for those with health insurance. Learn more about Aflac Accident Insurance today.

If you’re at Agenda, please join us for an open board meeting this afternoon at 4:00 pm, room 102B. We’ll be announcing details of our partnership with Aflac to offer reduced rate accident coverage for all our members and catching up on all our initiatives for 2013 and beyond. Oh, and free beer too while it lasts. Hope to see you there!